I haven’t written poetry in a while.

I haven’t written poetry in a while.

Poems need feelings,

And I haven’t felt ,

in a while.

I mean, I did feel, I do feel,

A certain sense of calm that envelops me in this sweet serene surrounding that I am in.

I feel at peace with the world.

Peace, the kind of peace that makes me smile knowingly at couples holding hands,

The kind of peace that makes me shrugs slightly at people pulling punches,

The kind of peace that a freed balloon feels,

observing the world from a distance,

floating with the gentle breeze.

I told a friend recently that this is the best way to feel.

No waiting up all night for a voice, a touch,

No anger at the wrong word spoken or no word spoken,

No tears spent wondering and guessing.

Leaving more time and energy to watch spiders spinning web,

Have you seen spiders spinning web?

It is a beautiful thing.

He then said,

You are right,

No waiting up all night, no anger, no tears…

But no warm hugs either, when the long waiting is over and they come home to you.

No great relief at finally finding that right word after stumbling over a few wrong ones.

No too, the gentle caress away of tears, when both are done with wondering.

By the way, have you seen spiders spinning web with someone?

Leave a Reply

