I thought I smelled Nasi Lemak

On my way home from teaching in a company in Tesistan. It was 9pm, only a few people take the bus at this time. Weaving through the narrow streets of potholes, streets lined with small houses and stalls of tacos. Amidst all of these and my dozing off, I suddenly smelled nasi lemak. It is a bewildering feeling, to be in place so far from home, yet smelling something so incredibly familiar. It is almost like the universe is drawing a real metaphor of my feelings. I am here, enjoying adventures, immersing in different language and cultures; yet the fragrance of nasi lemak is never far away. Just like the thought of you. I hope I’ll never lack of nasi lemak when I’m back home.

Leave a Reply

